Other current projects

Landslide and flood hazards and vulnerability in NW Rwanda: towards applicable land management and disaster risk reduction (LAFHAZAV / 2020-2024 / ARES)

Rwanda is often affected by severe cases of landslides and floods. It is also one of the most densely populated areas of the world. This context of strong demographic pressure has led to significant land use / land cover (LULC) changes which are likely the cause of an increase in landslide and flood occurrences, particularly in the mountainous regions of NW Rwanda near the Volcanoes National Park. Nonetheless, the impacts of LULC and its changes on the occurrence of these natural hazards remain difficult to predict and quantify. As a result, the development of suitable land management strategies (striking a balance between minimizing the impacts of these hazards and the high population pressure) remains highly challenging. This is especially so in the light of climate change.
This project therefore aims to study the effects of LULC and its changes over the past 60 years on the magnitude and frequency of landslides and floods, as well as the impacts of these hazards on the population. Our research will focus on two river basins in NW Rwanda with similar topographic and climatic characteristics but very different levels of LULC change. The expected results of this research are improved insights of the physical and anthropogenic factors controlling these two hazards and a better understanding of the population vulnerability facing these hazards. The outcomes of the project will be (1) an increased research capacity to conduct scientific risk assessment, integrating specific hydrogeomorphic hazards and associated risks with the human dimensions of risks; (2) the ability to make up-to-date assessments of these two hydrogeomorphic hazards which will be used to raise awareness and identify suitable mitigation and resilience strategies with exposed communities and all relevant stakeholders involved in disaster risk reduction; (3) a strong partnership from the beginning of the project with local and national stakeholders involved in disaster risk reduction, for a better integration of scientific insights into natural hazard and risk management policy. 

 

Prevention and mitigation of urban gullies: lessons learned from failures and successes (PREMITURG / 2018-2023 / ARES)

Intense rainfall, inappropriate city infrastructure and lack of urban planning lead to the formation of large gullies in many Congolese cities. These urban gullies are often formed in a matter of hours due to the concentration of rainfall runoff. Once formed, they mostly continue to expand during subsequent years. Given their nature and location in densely populated areas, they often claim casualties, cause large damage to houses and infrastructure and impede the development of many (peri-) urban areas. These problems directly affect the livelihood of perhaps more than a million of mainly poor people in DRC and may strongly aggravate as a result of rapid urban growth and climate change. Several initiatives already exist to stabilize existing gullies, but an estimated 50% of these measures fail. Furthermore, prevention receives very little attention. This project aims to contribute to the prevention and mitigation of urban gullies by strengthening the research and decision-making capacity of Congolese universities and members of the national Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) platform. For this, we aim to (i) study the factors controlling this erosion process; (ii) identify the most effective/efficient prevention and mitigation measures (iii) study the societal and governance context of urban gullies and its influence on the prevention and mitigation of urban gullies; and (iv) valorize and appropriate the obtained research results. This will mainly be done by the training of 3 MSc from DRC trained in Belgium, three MSc trained in DRC and 2 PhD students of DRC trained in Belgium and DRC. Their research will focus on urban gullies and prevention and mitigation initiatives in Kinshasa, Bukavu and Kikwit. In Kinshasa, also the societal context of urban gullies will be investigated. Apart from the training of these students, the project will support local MSc studies and provide a range of prediction tools, field manuals, trainings, seminars and workshops to assist decision makers and other stakeholders in addressing this issue.

 

Digital citizen science for community-based resilient environmental management  (D-SIRE / 2018-2021 / VLIR-UOS)

Previous projects in Uganda (e.g. AfReSlide) highlighted the developmental challenges posed by rural population exposure to natural hazards associated to population pressure, fragile livelihoods and land scarcity. To document the evolution in time of these hazards, identify potential suitable strategies to reduce their impacts, and raise awareness among the affected communities several participatory tools have been developed, including a serious game and the concept of geo-observer network. This network is based on data collection and reporting by local farmers through a smartphone application. The concept has so far been tested and proved operational in the Rwenzori mountains though still limited in terms of equipment, skills and geographical scope. The D-SiRe project aims at going a step further by 1/ extending the geographical extent of the geo-observer network to several district across South West Uganda; 2/ enhance the skills and knowledge of these geo-observers as environmental facilitators able to serve as interface between the communities and the scientists; 3/ develop teaching and research capabilities for geo-database management and analysis in the partner universities; 4/ scientifically valorise the crowd-sourced database to improve spatio-temporal modelling of hazardous processes; 5/ develop and test new methods to initiate the implementation of resilient livelihood practices; 6/ favour multi-lateral interactions between rural communities, district authorities and scientists.

 

Making Migration Work for Adaptation to Environmental Changes. A Belgian Appraisal (MIGRADAPT / 2018-2021 / Belspo BRAIN)

In the dichotomy between migrants and refugees/asylum-seekers, the former are typically cast as economically motivated, and set apart from refugees, fleeing war and persecution. Yet environmental changes are increasingly part of migration journeys, and count amongst the factors that call into question the distinction made between migrants and refugees. At the same time, in the international negotiations on climate change, migration is increasingly mooted as a possible adaptation strategy to the impacts of climate change. MIGRADAPT looks at the role of the environment as a driver for recent migration to Belgium. While it is unlikely that one could single out environmental changes as a key driver of migration to Belgium, except in exceptional cases, the project will rather attempt to provide an assessment on how migrants perceive the environment to have influenced their migration journey as well as how they perceive current environmental disruption in their countries of origin. In addition, MIGRADAPT provides evidence on how and under which conditions migration to Belgium can support the adaptation and resilience of origin communities and also on how the perception that migrants have on environmental shocks in their origin communities can impact the amount, form, and use of the socio-economic remittances. Through its transnational and multi-sited methodology that captures both the drivers and impacts of migration, MIGRADAPT addresses the multifactor aspect of the dynamics of environmental migration and its implications for both migrants and those remaining in communities of origin. 

Logo Georiska

Les autres projets actuels

Landslide and flood hazards and vulnerability in NW Rwanda: towards applicable land management and disaster risk reduction (LAFHAZAV / 2020-2024 / ARES)

Le Rwanda est souvent touché par des cas graves de glissements de terrain et d'inondations. C'est également l'une des régions les plus densément peuplées du monde. Ce contexte de forte pression démographique a conduit à des changements significatifs dans l'utilisation des terres / couverture des terres (LULC) qui sont probablement la cause d'une augmentation des occurrences de glissements de terrain et d'inondations, en particulier dans les régions montagneuses du Nord-Ouest du Rwanda près du Parc National des Volcans. Néanmoins, les impacts de l'occupation du sol et de ses changements sur l'occurrence de ces risques naturels restent difficiles à prévoir et à quantifier. Par conséquent, le développement de stratégies de gestion des terres appropriées (en trouvant un équilibre entre la minimisation des impacts de ces risques et la forte pression démographique) reste très difficile. Ceci est particulièrement vrai à la lumière du changement climatique.
Ce projet vise donc à étudier les effets de l'occupation des sols et de ses changements au cours des 60 dernières années sur l'ampleur et la fréquence des glissements de terrain et des inondations, ainsi que les impacts de ces risques sur la population. Notre recherche se concentrera sur deux bassins fluviaux dans le nord-ouest du Rwanda avec des caractéristiques topographiques et climatiques similaires mais des niveaux très différents de changement d'occupation des sols. Les résultats attendus de cette recherche sont une meilleure compréhension des facteurs physiques et anthropiques contrôlant ces deux risques et une meilleure compréhension de la vulnérabilité de la population face à ces risques. Les résultats du projet seront (1) une capacité de recherche accrue pour mener une évaluation scientifique des risques, en intégrant les risques hydrogéomorphologiques spécifiques et les risques associés avec les dimensions humaines des risques ; (2) la capacité de faire des évaluations actualisées de ces deux risques hydrogéomorphologiques qui seront utilisées pour sensibiliser et identifier des stratégies d'atténuation et de résilience appropriées avec les communautés exposées et toutes les parties prenantes impliquées dans la réduction des risques de catastrophe ; (3) un partenariat solide dès le début du projet avec les parties prenantes locales et nationales impliquées dans la réduction des risques de catastrophe, pour une meilleure intégration des connaissances scientifiques dans la politique de gestion des risques naturels et des risques. 

 

Prevention and mitigation of urban gullies: lessons learned from failures and successes (PREMITURG / 2018-2023 / ARES)

Les pluies intenses, les infrastructures urbaines inadaptées et le manque de planification urbaine entraînent la formation de grandes ravines dans de nombreuses villes congolaises. Ces ravines urbaines se forment souvent en quelques heures en raison de la concentration du ruissellement des pluies. Une fois formées, elles continuent le plus souvent à s'étendre au cours des années suivantes. Compte tenu de leur nature et de leur localisation dans des zones densément peuplées, elles font souvent des victimes, causent d'importants dégâts aux maisons et aux infrastructures et entravent le développement de nombreuses zones (péri)urbaines. Ces problèmes affectent directement les moyens de subsistance de plus d'un million de personnes, principalement pauvres, en RDC et pourraient fortement s'aggraver en raison de la croissance urbaine rapide et du changement climatique. Plusieurs initiatives existent déjà pour stabiliser les ravines existantes, mais on estime que 50% de ces mesures échouent. En outre, la prévention ne reçoit que très peu d'attention. Ce projet vise à contribuer à la prévention et à l'atténuation des ravinements urbains en renforçant les capacités de recherche et de prise de décision des universités congolaises et des membres de la plateforme nationale de réduction des risques de catastrophes (RRC). Pour cela, nous visons à (i) étudier les facteurs contrôlant ce processus d'érosion ; (ii) identifier les mesures de prévention et d'atténuation les plus efficaces/efficientes ; (iii) étudier le contexte sociétal et de gouvernance des ravines urbaines et son influence sur la prévention et l'atténuation des ravines urbaines ; et (iv) valoriser et s'approprier les résultats de recherche obtenus. Cela se fera principalement par la formation de 3 MSc de la RDC formés en Belgique, trois MSc formés en RDC et 2 doctorants de la RDC formés en Belgique et en RDC. Leurs recherches porteront sur les ravines urbaines et les initiatives de prévention et d'atténuation à Kinshasa, Bukavu et Kikwit. A Kinshasa, le contexte sociétal des ravines urbaines sera également étudié. Outre la formation de ces étudiants, le projet soutiendra les études de maîtrise locales et fournira une gamme d'outils de prédiction, de manuels de terrain, de formations, de séminaires et d'ateliers pour aider les décideurs et les autres parties prenantes à aborder cette question.

 

Digital citizen science for community-based resilient environmental management  (D-SIRE / 2018-2021 / VLIR-UOS)

Des projets antérieurs en Ouganda (par exemple AfReSlide) ont mis en évidence les défis de développement posés par l'exposition des populations rurales aux risques naturels liés à la pression démographique, à la fragilité des moyens de subsistance et à la pénurie de terres. Pour documenter l'évolution dans le temps de ces risques, identifier les stratégies potentielles appropriées pour réduire leurs impacts et sensibiliser les communautés affectées, plusieurs outils participatifs ont été développés, dont un serious game et le concept de réseau de géo-observateurs. Ce réseau est basé sur la collecte de données et la présentation de rapports par les agriculteurs locaux au moyen d'une application pour smartphone. Le concept a jusqu'à présent été testé et s'est avéré opérationnel dans les montagnes du Rwenzori, bien qu'il soit encore limité en termes d'équipement, de compétences et de portée géographique. Le projet D-SiRe vise à aller plus loin en 1/ étendant l'étendue géographique du réseau de géo-observateurs à plusieurs districts du sud-ouest de l'Ouganda ; 2/ améliorant les compétences et les connaissances de ces géo-observateurs en tant que facilitateurs environnementaux capables de servir d'interface entre les communautés et les scientifiques ; 3/ développer les capacités d'enseignement et de recherche pour la gestion et l'analyse des bases de données géographiques dans les universités partenaires ; 4/ valoriser scientifiquement la base de données alimentée par la foule pour améliorer la modélisation spatio-temporelle des processus dangereux ; 5/ développer et tester de nouvelles méthodes pour amorcer la mise en œuvre de pratiques de subsistance résilientes ; 6/ favoriser les interactions multilatérales entre les communautés rurales, les autorités de district et les scientifiques.

 

Making Migration Work for Adaptation to Environmental Changes. A Belgian Appraisal (MIGRADAPT / 2018-2021 / Belspo BRAIN)

Dans la dichotomie entre les migrants et les réfugiés/demandeurs d'asile, les premiers sont généralement considérés comme des personnes économiquement motivées, et sont mis à part des réfugiés, fuyant la guerre et la persécution. Pourtant, les changements environnementaux font de plus en plus partie des voyages de migration et comptent parmi les facteurs qui remettent en question la distinction faite entre les migrants et les réfugiés. Parallèlement, dans les négociations internationales sur le changement climatique, la migration est de plus en plus souvent évoquée comme une stratégie possible d'adaptation aux effets du changement climatique. MIGRADAPT examine le rôle de l'environnement comme moteur de la migration récente en Belgique. Bien qu'il soit peu probable que l'on puisse considérer les changements environnementaux comme un facteur clé de la migration vers la Belgique, sauf dans des cas exceptionnels, le projet tentera plutôt de fournir une évaluation de la façon dont les migrants perçoivent l'environnement comme ayant influencé leur voyage migratoire ainsi que la façon dont ils perçoivent les perturbations environnementales actuelles dans leurs pays d'origine. En outre, MIGRADAPT fournit des éléments sur la façon dont et dans quelles conditions la migration vers la Belgique peut soutenir l'adaptation et la résilience des communautés d'origine et également sur la façon dont la perception qu'ont les migrants des chocs environnementaux dans leurs communautés d'origine peut avoir un impact sur le montant, la forme et l'utilisation des transferts de fonds socio-économiques. Grâce à sa méthodologie transnationale et multi-sites qui capture à la fois les moteurs et les impacts de la migration, MIGRADAPT aborde l'aspect multifactoriel de la dynamique de la migration environnementale et ses implications pour les migrants et ceux qui restent dans les communautés d'origine. 

Logo Georiska