Completed projects

A Multi-sensOr approach to characterize ground Displacements in Urban Sprawling contexts (MODUS / 2017-2020 / Belspo STEREO)

Landslide impacts are high in less developed countries, particularly in tropical areas such as the Kivu Rift (DRC, Rwanda, Burundi) where there is a combination of active tectonics, steep topography, intense rainfall and high population density. Following the RESIST project (2015-2019), which created a regional landslide inventory and characterized the main processes, the MODUS project focused on the sprawling city of Bukavu and its surroundings (DRC). A range of remote sensing techniques were used, including unprecedented long time series and quantification of land surface deformations, which are key to a better understanding of landslide mechanisms and improved risk assessment.

 

Modelling regional rainfall controls on landslides in the tropics in the context of climate change (MIRRACLE / 2016-2020 / F.R.S.-FNRS)

Landslides are one of the most pervasive hazards provoking casualties and significant economic losses at the global scale. In order to substantially reduce the impact of landslides, it is essential to understand the factors controlling when and where landslides occur (hazard). Landslide hazard investigations in Central Africa are notably deficient due to the data-scarce context, rather than to the lack of landslide occurrence. Motivated by the observed discrepancy, this project is oriented to collect the spatiotemporal data required for landslide hazard assessment, and to develop tools for regional hazard assessment adapted to data-scarce contexts, using state-of-the-art satellite rainfall data, with a focus on the central section of the western branch of the East African Rift. Throughout this project, we compiled the first regional event inventory comprising information on the date and location of landslide events, and an unprecedented record of rain gauge data for the validation of satellite-based rainfall estimates from TMPA and IMERG. These data serve to calibrate the first regional rainfall thresholds for Central Africa, that is, a principal tool for characterizing landslide hazard. To this aim, a novel statistical threshold approach was developed, based on the relation between antecedent rainfall and landslide susceptibility for the definition of spatially varying rainfall thresholds.

 

MUlti Zone phase Unwrapping using advanced split-Band Interferometry (MUZUBI / 2015-2020 / Belspo STEREO III)

The MUZUBI project aims at developing a novel methodology to improve the phase unwrapping in SAR interferometry (InSAR). Indeed, it targets to fill the gap toward a fully developed Split Band-assisted phase unwrapping processor for SAR interferometry using Multi-Chromatic Analysis. It is thus proposed to adapt existing processor to specific pursuit and spotlight TerraSAR-X (TDX) acquisition schemes and combine SBInSAR processor with classical phase unwrapping procedure in order to get absolute phase measurement on all coherent zones. The developed technique will be applied to the study and monitoring of two active volcanic zones: the Nyiragongo/Nyamulagira (RDC) and the Copahue (Argentina). In the first case, it should allow getting connected displacement measurements on separated areas around the highly vegetated volcanoes. In the second case, known to be more challenging in terms of topography, it should allow to resolve the required topographic component.

 

Remote Sensing and In Situ Detection and Tracking of Geohazards (RESIST / 2015-2019 / Belspo STEREO-FNR)

The RESIST project contributes to the understanding of the source mechanisms driving volcanic eruptions andlandslides in the area extending from North Tanganyika to North Virunga by:
                1) filling the gap of knowledge on ground-based level and;
                2) combining this information with innovative earth observation (EO) approaches.
RESIST exploits ground-based instrument networks, field surveys and modern EO techniques (Split Band and MSBAS InSAR time-series, SO2 flux, TRMM) to study and characterize the changes in the monitored parameters that could/should be considered as significant in terms of volcanic and landslide processes.
The project is funded by the STEREO programme of the Belgian Science Policy Office (BELSPO) and the Luxembourg National Fund for Research (FNR). The project is coordinated by RMCA, in collaboration with the National Museum of Natural History/European Center for Geodynamics and Seismology, Centre Spatial de Liège, Belgian institute for Space Aeronomy, and NASA-Landslides.

 

Landslides in Equatorial Africa: Identifying culturally, technically and economically feasible resilience strategies (AfreSlide / 2013-2018 / Belspo BRAIN)

AfReSlide is a scientific project funded by the Belgian Federal Scientific Policy (Belspo), as part of the Belgian Research Action through Interdisciplinary Networks (BRAIN-be). Specific objectives:

  • To produce landslide susceptibility maps and identify return periods of landslide-triggering rainfall events in order to estimate landslide hazards in the 4 representative areas;
  • To analyze the types of elements at risk (immaterial and material) and their exposure, and to develop a methodology to economically value the consequences;
  • To assess resilience strategies at household and at policy levels;
  • To analyze the cultural premises underlying perceptions of environmental threats, to describe land rights and land management, and to identify culturally acceptable resilience strategies;
  • To produce hazard and risk maps develop a toolbox to identify the most effective and acceptable resilience strategies.

 

GeoKivu (2017-2019 / DGD)

GeoKivu is a project funded by the Belgian Directorate-General for Development Cooperation and Humanitarian Aid (DGD). This project aims at safeguarding and enhancing the archives of the Royal Museum for Central Africa (RMCA) and partner institutions in Kivu. The geo-localizable archives of these institutions (maps, reports, memoirs, etc.) are inventoried and encoded in a geocatalogue of metadata that can be consulted online. In the framework of the reinforcement of the partners' expertise, each institution develops a specific GIS application aimed at enriching regional and local knowledge in different fields (earth sciences, geography, zoology).

 

Geo-risk in Central Africa: integrating multi-hazards and vulnerability to support risk management (GeoRisCA/ 2012-2017 / Belspo SSD)

In some places, geo-hazards are a major concern for population, the assets, and the economy. This is especially the case in the East African Rift (EAR), where high volcanic and tectonic activities are sometimes coupled with geopolitical issues and dense population as in the Kivu rift area. That area is one of the most densely populated regions of Central Africa and is affected by decades of political instability and subsequent humanitarian crisis. In that region, geo-hazards are poorly assessed despite the numerous recent and historical events. Moreover, the relief of the rift also corresponds in this area to the main political boundaries, which complicates the coordination and the management of geo-hazards monitoring networks and related mitigation measures.

Based on the experience acquired through several projects focused on hazard assessment and reinforcement of local monitoring capacity, the GeoRisCA project is addressing the assessment of the global risk related to the major geohazards that affect the region. Taking into account the identified factors, GeoRisCA's objective is to assess the risk from multi geohazards in a region which is subject to many (possibly combined) disasters every year and which could undergo a large impact disaster in the coming years. At regional scale, the high seismicity and the volcanic activity are the most important concerns. Possible eruptions of lethal gas in certain area around Goma, and the large number of reported and likely future mass movements as well as site-specific seismic amplification effects increase the danger at local scale.

As both human lives and specific ecosystems are under threat, comprehensive methodologies are required to reliably assess multi geohazards over both short and long terms and to clearly outline and map related risk. These tools are needed by local and regional authorities as well as local and international stakeholders in management and mitigation processes. Developed methodologies in GeoRisCA combine hazard and vulnerability factors, as well as risk perception indicators. Such an approach combining natural and human sciences to address georisks at a local scale has never been performed in that region so far.
 

GORISK (2007-2010 / Belspo STEREO II)

The GORISK Scientific Network is a group of scientists working on the study and the monitoring of the volcanic and tectonic activity in the Kivu rift basin (western branch of the East African Rift System). It is born from the Belgian-Luxembourgian GORISK project. Launched in January 2007 in the frame of the STEREOII program, the GORISK project was based a multidisciplinary approach focused on the implementation and improvement of ground-based and spaceborne tools for volcanic risk and health impact assessment in the Goma region (North Kivu, DRC). This area (potentially 1 million people) is threatened by two highly active volcanoes: Nyiragongo and Nyamulagira. The January 2002 eruption of Nyiragongo had an important and long-term economical, socio-political and humanitarian impact on the region. Though the Nyamulagira is not a major direct threat for populations. It erupts every two years and is a potential concern for some inhabited areas and road infrastructures . 
 

Logo Georiska

Les projets achevés

A Multi-sensOr approach to characterize ground Displacements in Urban Sprawling contexts (MODUS / 2017-2020 / Belspo STEREO)

Les impacts des glissements de terrain sont élevés dans les pays moins développés, en particulier dans les zones tropicales telles que le rift du Kivu (RDC, Rwanda, Burundi) où l'on trouve une combinaison de tectonique active, de topographie abrupte, de précipitations intenses et de forte densité de population. A la suite du projet RESIST (2015-2019), qui avait permis de créer un inventaire régional des glissements de terrain et de caractériser les principaux processus, le projet MODUS s'est concentré sur la ville tentaculaire de Bukavu et ses environs (RDC). Une série de techniques de télédétection a été utilisée, permettant entre autres de longues séries chronologiques sans précédent et la quantification des déformations de la surface du sol ; ceci étant la clé pour une meilleure compréhension des mécanismes de glissement de terrain et une amélioration de l'évaluation des risques associés.

 

Modelling regional rainfall controls on landslides in the tropics in the context of climate change (MIRRACLE / 2016-2020 / F.R.S.-FNRS)

Les glissements de terrain sont l'un des risques les plus répandus, provoquant des victimes et des pertes économiques importantes à l'échelle mondiale. Afin de réduire considérablement l'impact des glissements de terrain, il est essentiel de comprendre les facteurs qui contrôlent quand et où les glissements de terrain se produisent (danger). Les enquêtes sur les risques de glissements de terrain en Afrique centrale sont particulièrement déficientes en raison du contexte de rareté des données, plutôt que de l'absence de glissements de terrain. Motivé par les écarts observés, ce projet vise à collecter les données spatiotemporelles nécessaires à l'évaluation des risques de glissement de terrain et à développer des outils d'évaluation des risques régionaux adaptés aux contextes de pénurie de données, en utilisant les données pluviométriques satellitaires les plus récentes, en se concentrant sur la section centrale de la branche occidentale du rift est-africain. Tout au long de ce projet, nous avons compilé le premier inventaire régional des événements comprenant des informations sur la date et le lieu des glissements de terrain, et un enregistrement sans précédent des données pluviométriques pour la validation des estimations des précipitations par satellite du TMPA et de l'IMERG. Ces données servent à calibrer les premiers seuils régionaux de précipitations pour l'Afrique centrale, c'est-à-dire un outil principal pour caractériser le risque de glissement de terrain. À cette fin, une nouvelle approche statistique des seuils a été développée, basée sur la relation entre les précipitations antérieures et la sensibilité aux glissements de terrain pour la définition de seuils de précipitations variables dans l'espace.

 

MUlti Zone phase Unwrapping using advanced split-Band Interferometry (MUZUBI / 2015-2020 / Belspo STEREO III)

Le projet MUZUBI vise à développer une nouvelle méthodologie pour améliorer le déballage de phase dans l'interférométrie SAR (InSAR). En effet, il vise à combler l'écart vers un processeur de dénouement de phase assisté par bande fractionnée entièrement développé pour l'interférométrie SAR utilisant l'analyse multichromatique. Il est donc proposé d'adapter le processeur existant à des schémas d'acquisition TerraSAR-X (TDX) spécifiques à la poursuite et au spotlight et de combiner le processeur SBInSAR avec la procédure classique de déphasage afin d'obtenir une mesure de phase absolue sur toutes les zones cohérentes. La technique développée sera appliquée à l'étude et à la surveillance de deux zones volcaniques actives : le Nyiragongo/Nyamulagira (RDC) et le Copahue (Argentine). Dans le premier cas, elle devrait permettre d'obtenir des mesures de déplacement connectées sur des zones séparées autour des volcans à forte végétation. Dans le second cas, connu pour être plus difficile en termes de topographie, il devrait permettre de résoudre la composante topographique requise.

 

Remote Sensing and In Situ Detection and Tracking of Geohazards (RESIST / 2015-2019 / Belspo STEREO-FNR)

Le projet RESIST contribue à la compréhension des mécanismes à l'origine des éruptions volcaniques et des glissements de terrain dans la zone s'étendant du nord du Tanganyika au nord des Virunga en:
                1) comblant le manque de connaissances au niveau du terrain et;
                2) combinant ces informations avec des approches innovantes d'observation de la terre (OT).
RESIST exploite les réseaux d'instruments au sol, les enquêtes de terrain et les techniques modernes d'OT (séries chronologiques InSAR à bande fractionnée et MSBAS, flux de SO2, TRMM) pour étudier et caractériser les changements des paramètres surveillés qui pourraient / devraient être considérés comme importants en termes de processus volcaniques et de glissements de terrain.
Le projet est financé par le programme STEREO du Bureau de la politique scientifique belge (BELSPO) et le Fonds national de la recherche (FNR) du Luxembourg. Le projet est coordonné par le MRAC, en collaboration avec le Musée national d'histoire naturelle/Centre européen de géodynamique et de sismologie, le Centre spatial de Liège, l'Institut belge d'aéronomie spatiale et NASA-Landslides.

 

Landslides in Equatorial Africa: Identifying culturally, technically and economically feasible resilience strategies (AfreSlide / 2013-2018 / Belspo BRAIN)

AfReSlide est un projet scientifique financé par la Politique scientifique fédérale belge (Belspo), dans le cadre de l'Action belge pour la recherche par les réseaux interdisciplinaires (BRAIN-be). Objectifs spécifiques :

  • Produire des cartes de susceptibilité aux glissements de terrain et identifier les périodes de retour des précipitations déclenchant des glissements de terrain afin d'estimer les risques de glissements de terrain dans les 4 zones représentatives;
  • Analyser les types d'éléments à risque (immatériels et matériels) et leur exposition, et développer une méthodologie pour évaluer économiquement les conséquences;
  • Evaluer les stratégies de résilience au niveau des ménages et des politiques;
  • Analyser les prémisses culturelles qui sous-tendent les perceptions des menaces environnementales, décrire les droits fonciers et la gestion des terres, et identifier les stratégies de résilience culturellement acceptables;
  • Produire des cartes des dangers et des risques ; développer une boîte à outils pour identifier les stratégies de résilience les plus efficaces et les plus acceptables.

 

GeoKivu (2017-2019 / DGD)

GeoKivu est un projet financé par la Direction générale de la coopération au développement et de l'aide humanitaire (DGD) belge. Ce projet vise à sauvegarder et à valoriser les archives du Musée royal de l'Afrique centrale (MRAC) et des institutions partenaires au Kivu. Les archives géo-localisables de ces institutions (cartes, rapports, mémoires, etc.) sont inventoriées et encodées dans un géocatalogue de métadonnées consultable en ligne. Dans le cadre du renforcement de l'expertise des partenaires, chaque institution développe une application SIG spécifique visant à enrichir les connaissances régionales et locales dans différents domaines (sciences de la terre, géographie, zoologie).

 

Geo-risk in Central Africa: integrating multi-hazards and vulnerability to support risk management (GeoRisCA/ 2012-2017 / Belspo SSD)

Dans certains endroits, les géorisques sont une préoccupation majeure pour la population, les biens et l'économie. C'est notamment le cas dans le rift est-africain (EAR), où les fortes activités volcaniques et tectoniques sont parfois associées à des problèmes géopolitiques et à une forte densité de population, comme dans la région du rift du Kivu. Cette zone est l'une des régions les plus densément peuplées d'Afrique centrale et est affectée par des décennies d'instabilité politique et de crise humanitaire subséquente. Dans cette région, les risques géopolitiques sont mal évalués malgré les nombreux événements récents et historiques. En outre, le relief du rift correspond dans cette région aux principales frontières politiques, ce qui complique la coordination et la gestion des réseaux de surveillance des géorisques et des mesures d'atténuation connexes.

Sur la base de l'expérience acquise dans le cadre de plusieurs projets axés sur l'évaluation des risques et le renforcement des capacités de surveillance locales, le projet GeoRisCA s'intéresse à l'évaluation du risque global lié aux principaux géorisques qui affectent la région. En tenant compte des facteurs identifiés, l'objectif du projet GeoRisCA est d'évaluer le risque lié aux géorisques multiples dans une région qui est soumise à de nombreuses catastrophes (éventuellement combinées) chaque année et qui pourrait subir une catastrophe à fort impact dans les années à venir. À l'échelle régionale, la forte sismicité et l'activité volcanique sont les principales préoccupations. Les éventuelles éruptions de gaz mortels dans certaines zones autour de Goma, et le grand nombre de mouvements de masse signalés et probables à l'avenir, ainsi que les effets d'amplification sismique spécifiques au site, augmentent le danger à l'échelle locale.

Comme des vies humaines et des écosystèmes spécifiques sont menacés, des méthodologies complètes sont nécessaires pour évaluer de manière fiable les géorisques multiples à court et à long terme et pour définir et cartographier clairement les risques associés. Ces outils sont nécessaires aux autorités locales et régionales ainsi qu'aux parties prenantes locales et internationales dans les processus de gestion et d'atténuation. Les méthodologies développées dans le cadre de GeoRisCA combinent les facteurs d'aléa et de vulnérabilité, ainsi que les indicateurs de perception des risques. Une telle approche combinant les sciences naturelles et humaines pour aborder les géorisques à l'échelle locale n'a jamais été réalisée dans cette région jusqu'à présent.

GORISK (2007-2010 / Belspo STEREO II)

Le réseau scientifique GORISK est un groupe de scientifiques travaillant sur l'étude et la surveillance de l'activité volcanique et tectonique dans le bassin du rift du Kivu (branche occidentale du système du rift est-africain). Il est né du projet belgo-luxembourgeois GORISK. Lancé en janvier 2007 dans le cadre du programme STEREOII, le projet GORISK repose sur une approche multidisciplinaire axée sur la mise en œuvre et l'amélioration des outils terrestres et spatiaux d'évaluation du risque volcanique et de l'impact sanitaire dans la région de Goma (Nord-Kivu, RDC). Cette région (potentiellement 1 million de personnes) est menacée par deux volcans très actifs : Nyiragongo et Nyamulagira. L'éruption du Nyiragongo en janvier 2002 a eu un impact économique, sociopolitique et humanitaire important et à long terme sur la région. Bien que le Nyamulagira ne constitue pas une menace directe majeure pour les populations. Il entre en éruption tous les deux ans et constitue un problème potentiel pour certaines zones habitées et infrastructures routières. 

Logo Georiska